Let’s Hear from the Teachers

25 Mar

Hello, my fellow educators!  As you can see in my earlier blogs, I am trying to determine the purpose of homework and the best practices for efficiently using it in my classroom.  One of my big struggles is that my students do not seem to benefit from homework and in some cases it seems to confuse them.  I personally feel that homework is beneficial in that it provides extra practice, it connects the parents directly to classroom, and it instills important study habits.  However, when you teach in a school and community where most people do not go past high school, students come in well below grade level, and most homework is completed in an afterschool program where only a couple adults are monitoring several students, homework can actually be more harm than help.  Perhaps it all depends on these factors of community, type of school, parental involvement, etc.  That’s why I’d love to hear from you and the experiences you have had in your classroom.  Any input is greatly appreciated!

(Some questions ask that you explain you answer in the comments section of this poll.  After you answer, click on View Results.  Then, click on Comments.  Here, you can add your comments.  Also, if necessary, you may select more than one answer.)

3 Responses to “Let’s Hear from the Teachers”

  1. Candace May 31, 2012 at 12:56 AM #

    Some of my parents help their kids. I require that hw be completed and returned the next day. If not, and I do not receive a note from the parent explaining the emergency that prevented hw from being completed, they will miss pe and make it up during that time. This is a school wide policy called ZAP- zeros aren’t productive. It does no good to give a child a zero if you truly assigned the hw as practice they was needed. They need to practice. Also I require that all hw be signed by a parent so that I know they know what we are covering and how their child is doing with that skill.

  2. Jordan May 31, 2012 at 3:45 AM #

    At the school I was previously employed, there was a policy against giving homework for the sake of giving homework. The average day of homework usually yielded no homework. When homework was assigned, it was the result of unfinished classwork or to prepare for a project that was assigned. In my opinion, the purpose of homework is to complete unfinished work and to provide an opportunity to create effective study habits. I personally feel that the majority of homework should be the result of project-based learning because it relates to the material being studied. I positively and negatively reinforce the completion of homework by assessing point values for the assignment. Points vary depending on quality of completion as well as timeliness of submittal. I found using a point system reflects accurately student effort and achievement. A “no homework” policy could be beneficial if the school and teachers are on the same page. Everyone needs to be in cohesion for it to be productive. Otherwise, it will not be effective. I grade homework using the points system where students earn points for accuracy and timeliness of submission. I contact parents about once per quarter, usually when a student is struggling.

  3. gorebels95@yahoo.com May 31, 2012 at 4:50 AM #

    I think homework should be given every day including on Fridays to do over the weekend. In my opinion, homework should be “practice” on what they learned in class. I also think that homework should be interesting, stimulating, and challenging. Homework also gives the parents information on what their child is learning in school. I find the biggest challenge with homework is the lack of involvement parents have with their child’s homework to make sure they really understand what they are learning. Besides the learning process that homework brings, homework can also open the lines of communication between child and parent that may not be happening in the home.

Leave a Reply

